I am obviously doing my paper on Plath’s “Epitaph for Fire and Flower” and Hughes’s “Lovesong”. It is such a huge concept, all-consuming love, and I was fascinated by how both Plath and Hughes language affected me. We have always said that Hughes seems more direct, and in lovesong this remains true. He is declaring war, but that war started out beautiful. He wanted it, until he realized too late what it would cost him. Plath is more poetic, but still finds the same outcome. Her lovers are compared to beautiful bright things until bright becomes dark and beauty turns black. What really drew me into these poems was the feelings they stirred in me. Plath uses beautifuly dense poetry to describe this love, but I still felt the tremendous loss at the end. Hughes was more direct in his pain and suffering, but I still felt the same thing at the end of his. I was curious as to why two seemingly different poems were able to draw out very similar images and feelings, and the rest was history. I decided that instead of focusing on the sameness of the poems, I would be better off tackling the differences and why those differences were able to construct the same feelings. My thesis was how Plath and Hughes used impossible imagery to describe the indescribable. I changed it to all-consuming love is destructive, and by using two separate forms of poetry Plath and Hughes are able to document this destruction. These poems really felt like they were describing their love for one another, and that just captured me. It really helped me understand the feelings they had for one another, and that is a great insight to their poetry.